Contact Us  Home
Contact Us  Contact Us
Site Map  Site Map
Loading ...
Board of Governors



Ms. Usha Thorat has over thirty-eight years of experience in central banking and financial regulation, having retired in 2010 as Deputy Governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). During this period, she led a number of RBI's initiatives on financial inclusion and held significant roles, including representing India on the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) committee on global banking regulation. She is also a former board member of both the Securities Exchange Board of India (SEBI) and the National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD).

Ms. Thorat currently sits on the Governing Council for the Centre for Advanced Financial Research and Learning (CAFRAL), an organisation she set up in 2011 under the aegis of RBI. With an active interest in and commitment to social and environmental issues, Ms.Thorat is the Vice President of the Bombay Natural History Society and a trustee of the Indian Cancer Society.

An MA in Economics from the Delhi School of Economics, Ms. Thorat has written extensively and delivered several lectures which have been published both nationally and internationally on banking and financial regulation.


Dr. Amrita Patel is the former Chairman of National Dairy Development Board (NDDB). She also served on the Board of WWF India, Indian Institute of Forest Management, Bhopal and she continues to be on the Board of Society for Promotion of Wastelands Development, New Delhi and the Sardar Patel Renewable Energy Research Institute, Vallabh Vidya Nagar. She was conferred with the 'Padmabhushan' by the Government of India for her contribution to Dairy industry and animal husbandry and 'Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar' by the Ministry of Environment & Forests for her significant contribution to the field of environment. She has been on the list of the top Business women of the year (listed by Business Today) consistently for the last five years and topped the list in 2008.

Mr. Samar Singh was appointed the Secretary to the Government of India in 1996 and worked on deputation as the Secretary General, World Wide Fund for Nature-India (WWF-India) from 1993 to 2000. He has also worked as Member-Secretary, Indian Board for Wildlife, under the Chairmanship of the Prime Minister. Mr. Samar Singh has also served as Member-Secretary of the Court and Executive Council of Forest Research Institute & Colleges; and Member-Secretary of the National Land Board and National Commission for Conservation and Development of Land Resources.

Mr. Nitin Desai is a member, Prime Minister's Council for Climate Change and has served as the Senior Economic Adviser for the World Commission on Environment and Development and as Deputy Secretary-General of the 1992 United Nations Conference on Environment and Development (UNCED). Mr. Desai has been a member of the Commonwealth Secretariat Expert Group on Climate Change. He was also on the Governing Council of the Stockholm Environment Institute. He also served as the Special Secretary of the Planning Commission of the Government of India.

Mr. Deepak Tikku is the Chairman, NDDB Dairy Services Ltd. He also holds positions as a member on the Boards of Indian Immunologicals Limited; Bharat Aseptic Packaging Industries Limited; National Co-operative Dairy Federation Ltd; Gujarat Co-operative Milk Marketing Federation Ltd.; National Dairy Research Institute, Institute of Rural Management; National Society for Development of Administration, Research & Training; Agricultural and Processed Food Products Export Development Authority & Project for Genetic Engineering of oilseeds/vegetable crops.

Mr. Mahendra Vyas is a senior advocate, in Supreme Court of India and is actively involved in the field of Nature Conservation. He is a Member of the Central Empowered Committee, a statutory Committee under the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 constituted by the Supreme Court; Member of the various Committees constituted by the Ministry of Environment and Forests. He has been a Member of the Species Survival Commission's Cat Specialist Group (India) of the IUCN, since 1993.

Dr. Sudarshan Iyengar is the former Vice Chancellor, Gujarat Vidyapeeth, Ahmedabad, Gujarat. As former Director, Centre for Social Studies, Surat, he was responsible for administration and development of this prime social science research institute supported by the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR), New Delhi. He also held the position of Director, Gujarat Institute of Development Research (GIDR), Ahmedabad. Dr. Iyengar also worked with NGOs on issues relating to displacement and rehabilitation of the tribal families affected by the Sardar Sarovar Narmada Project and was also associated with ARCH- Vahini, Gujarat.

Dr. Shailesh Nayak is a doctorate in Geology and former Secretary of the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Government of India. He is known for his expertise on technology, especially Earth Sciences and GIS and for his work on setting a state-of-the-art Early Warning System for Tsunami and Storm Surges in the Indian Ocean. He was responsible for the conceptualisation and development of Marine GIS. He made outstanding contributions in improving advisory services related to potential fishing zones, ocean state forecast, and Indian Argo project. He is the President of the International Geological Congress-2020 (Dec. 2015 onward) and has been Chair of many international conferences related to Earth Sciences, Remote Sensing and Climate Change.


National Dairy Development Board (NDDB) aims to promote, finance and support producer-owned and controlled organisations. NDDB's programmes and activities seek to strengthen farmer cooperatives and support national policies that are favourable to the growth of such institutions. Fundamental to NDDB's efforts are cooperative principles and cooperative strategies.

National Bank For Agriculture And Rural Development (NABARD) is an apex Development Bank with a mandate for facilitating credit flow for promotion and development of agriculture, small-scale industries, cottage and village industries, handicrafts and other rural crafts. It also extends support to all other allied economic activities in rural areas, promoting integrated and sustainable rural development and securing prosperity of rural areas of India.

Sanjay Joshie
(Ex-Officio Member Secretary)




   Click to Enlarge
Go Top
2006-2021 Copyright © Foundation for Ecological Security
Site Managed by Netlink India